The Easiest Setting

So early today I came upon this article on MSNBC.com of all places. It’s about the first ever “Men’s Right Conference”. It took me most of the morning to get through it, because every other paragraph, I kept coming across a quote or a line that made me throw my hands up in the air and walk about my room screaming “Really? REALLY?” (No, this doesn’t make a crazy person. Why do you ask?)

I mean, do you have any idea how easy it is to be a straight white male in America right now? Honestly – if you haven’t tried it, you REALLY should. It’s awesome. I mean, okay, yeah – my life hasn’t been all that much fun for the past 5 years, but I’ve had to practically invent new problems for me to have just to make my life experience seem a little bit challenging.

John Scalzi wrote a better article than I ever will on this topic. But hey – that’s why people pay him to write. But the concept stays the same: don’t live a life where you were born on third base, thought you hit a triple, and then complained about how difficult it is to get to home plate.

Leave a Reply

